SA Health Cancer Drug Committee

The SA Health Cancer Drug Committee (SAHCDC) is responsible to the South Australian Medicines Advisory Committee (SAMAC) for overseeing the development, approval and review of cancer chemotherapy protocols within SA Health Hospitals.

The scope of the SAHCDC includes chemotherapy protocols used in malignant haematology (for example leukaemia and myeloma) and oncology (solid tumours).

The SAHCDC provides final review and endorsement of new and updated protocols and support tools following submission by cancer services. Protocols are reviewed and assessed for effectiveness and suitability for endorsement using the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Evidence levels guide (PDF 548KB)

The SAHCDC also enables urgent review of ‘non-standard’ cancer chemotherapy protocols for individual patient treatment when an endorsed protocol is not available.

The approved cancer chemotherapy protocols list, SAHCDC forms and protocol template can be found on the Cancer, Haematology and Oncology web page.


Membership includes doctors, pharmacists, nurses and consumer representatives.

Chair  Dr Ganessan Kichenadasse, Lead, Statewide Clinical Cancer Network, Consultant, Medical Oncology, Flinders Medical Centre, Clinical Pharmacologist, Lecturer, Flinders University,

Deputy Chair – Dr David Yeung

Clinical Cancer Network Chair - Dr Ganessan Kichenadasse, Medicines and Technology Policy & Programs (MTPP)

  • Senior Project Pharmacist - Ms Kirsty Scarborough
  • Director - Ms Naomi Burgess

Consumer Representative - Ms Karen van Gorp

Central Adelaide Local Health Network

  • Haematologist - Dr Uwe Hahn
  • Oncologist - Dr Rachel Roberts-Thomson / Dr Sid Selva
  • Pharmacist - Mrs Rebecca Thompson
  • Nurse Practitioner - Ms Nicole Loft

Southern Adelaide Local Health Network

  • Haematologist - Dr Bryone Kuss / Douglas Coghlan
  • Oncologist - A/Prof Chris Karapetis
  • Specialist Oncology Pharmacist - Ms Helen Martin
  • Nurse – Michael Fitzgerald

Northern Adelaide Local Health Network

  • Oncologist - Dr Chris Hocking
  • Haematologist - Dr Michele Damin
  • Pharmacist - Ms Kimberley-Ann Kerr
  • Nurse – Vacant

Regional LHNs

  • Oncologist - Dr Kate Wislang / Prof Sankha Mitra
  • Pharmacist - Ms Hayley Vasileff
  • Nurse - Ms Helen Phillips
  • Haematologist  — Dr Danielle Blunt

Women’s and Children’s Health Network

  • Haematologist/Oncologist - Dr Ben Saxon
  • Pharmacist - Ms Eu Queen Ang
  • Acting Nursing Service Director - Ms Carolyn Field

eCPS Oncologist 

  • Dr Jacqui Adams / Ms Bel Morris (non-voting)