2017 Minister for Health and Wellbeing - Excellence in Public Health Awards

Regional winner

Coorong District Council for their Coorong Healthy Highways initiative.

Coorong Healthy Highways has improved access to nutritious food at cafes, restaurants, hotels, supermarkets and service stations across the Coorong District Council area . Twenty three healthier food and drink menus have been created including 80 new nutritious menu items . This has included:

  • adding vegetables and fruit
  • using wholegrain products
  • removing fried foods and sugar sweetened drinks
  • choosing healthy oils and cooking methods
  • using low fat dairy.

Coorong Healthy Highways has used a range of strategies including education through healthy menu training, marketing through merchandise such as postcards, tabletop menus and roadside banners and community events to build support with local residents as well as tourists passing through the area . A simple but popular website has also been developed which is well utilised by travellers and locals

Metropolitan winner

City of Marion for their Jervois Street Reserve - Healthy Community Activation initiative.

The City of Marion recognised that there was a lack of open space and recreation opportunities in the South Plympton area and in partnership with the Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure, the Rotary Club of Edwardstown and the community, created a reserve that caters for many types of recreation for the whole family. The reserve includes a:

  • pump track
  • courts
  • junior playground
  • fitness node
  • walking/rolling/riding track.

The block of unused land was transformed into a modern play area that encourages children to play and enjoy recreation in an attractive environment. The facilities reflect the needs of local residents who contributed to the design during extensive consultation. The community reach and impact of the reserve upgrade has surpassed expectations, with unprecedented numbers using the park.

Highly Commended Councils

The Highly Commended Councils for the 2017 Minister for Health – Excellence in Public Health Award were:

  • City of Playford - the Seacombe Project
  • City of Onkaparinga - the Wellbeing and Resilience Project
  • Mid Murray Council- the Community Wellbeing program
  • District Council of Mount Barker - the Littlehampton & Blakiston Neighbourhood Plan