Food Safety Supervisor Certification

Standard 3.2.2A - Food Safety Management Tools, requires category one and category two businesses to appoint a certified Food Safety Supervisor (FSS).

Training courses

To be certified as a food safety supervisor, food handlers must complete units of competency from a Registered Training Organisation (RTO) in one of the following training courses:

  • SITSS00069 - Food Safety Supervision Skill Set, (applicable to all food service businesses, caterers, and retailers) consisting of units:
    • SITXFSA005 - Use hygienic practices for food safety; AND
    • SITXFSA006 - Participate in safe food handling practices

An FSS must hold a certificate (or Statement of Attainment) issued by an RTO showing the required units of competency were completed within the last 5 years. If the units of competency were completed more than 5 years ago, the FSS will need to complete a re-certification course or complete the course again.

Note: mobile food vendors operating in NSW must have a NSW Food Authority Food Safety Supervisor Certificate. For more information visit New South Wales Food Authority Food Safety Supervisors.

Registered Training Organisations

The following table lists RTOs that have confirmed with SA Health that they currently deliver FSS courses for South Australians.

Training providers

Businesses and food handlers can check if an RTO is approved to deliver the required units of competency on the national website.

Note: SA Health does not endorse or approve any specific training providers.

If your RTO currently delivers FSS courses, please complete the request form to be listed above.