Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards

The South Australian Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards (NMEA) recognise and acknowledge the significant contribution that nurses and midwives make to their professions and the wider community through their practice.

The Awards are open to all nurses, midwives or nursing and midwifery teams working in a speciality area or health care environment. This includes those working in the public sector, private sector, primary health care, rural and remote, aged care, education, research or private practice who you feel deserve to be recognised for their excellence.

Finalists announced!

Congratulations to the finalists of the 2020 Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards!

Mary Buckskin Excellence in Practice Aboriginal Nurse/Midwife

  • Marilyn Thomas, CALHN
  • Paula Hunter, FUNLHN

Excellence in Education Registered Nurse/Midwife

  • Heather Dunnachie, WCHN
  • Christine Fraser, Aboriginal Health Council
  • Diana Sonnack, NALHN

Excellence in Leadership Registered Nurse/Midwife

  • Sarah Tirrell, WCHN
  • Petra Bierer, SALHN
  • Kristian Sanchez, CALHN

Excellence in Practice Registered Nurse

  • Kevin Hardy, Calvary North Adelaide
  • Leanne Davis, SALHN
  • Mikaela Purdie, CALHN

Excellence in Practice Midwife

  • Melissa McDonald, SALHN
  • Susan Macfarlan, NALHN
  • Milly Grigg, BHFLHN

Excellence in Practice Enrolled Nurse

  • Heather Braun, YNLHN
  • Patricia Rhodes, SALHN
  • Peta Sutton, SAMI

Excellence in Research and Knowledge Translation Registered Nurse/Midwife

  • Karen Royals, CALHN
  • Mary Steen, Uni SA
  • Deryn Thompson, WCHN

Excellence in Person Centred Care  Team Award Registered Nurse/Midwife/Enrolled Nurse

  • Yorke and Northern LHN Midwifery Group, YNLHN
  • GRACE Program, Calvary Community Care
  • Country Access to Cardiac Health (CATCH), iCCnet SA, RSS

Consumer Appreciation Award

  • Emma Montague, SALHN
  • Yumi Lee, SALHN
  • Mandy Kocher, CALHN

Humanitarian Award

  • Kate Taylor, NALHN
  • Sophie Dohnt, CALHN
  • Deidre Fenner, NALHN

Excellence in Aged Care Registered Nurse/Enrolled Nurse

  • Tanya Seddon, YNLHN
  • Sophie Farminer, NALHN
  • Julie Webber, RMCLHN

Early Career Nurse/Midwife of the Year Registered Nurse/Midwife/Enrolled Nurse

  • Tulika Patel, Estia Health Golden Grove
  • Katherine Seiboth, RMCLHN
  • Tayla Antiuschka, SAMI, TQEH

2020 NMEA Gala Dinner

Award category winners will be announced at the South Australian Nursing and Midwifery Excellence Awards Gala Dinner at the Adelaide Oval on Friday, 7 May 2021 and will receive a trophy and prize money of $1,000 in recognition of their achievements.

Ticket sales

Tickets for the NMEA Gala Dinner have now sold out!

Good luck to all of the finalists.


SA Health would like to acknowledge the contribution of the following sponsors:

For more information

Nursing and Midwifery Office
Office of Professional Leadership
SA Health

Phone: (08) 8226 0749

Previous awards