Priority classification of food businesses

SA Health has developed a state-wide food business risk classification and inspection frequency system based on inherent risk, which sets initial, maximum and minimum inspection frequencies. This system was updated in November, 2018 to reflect changing business models and to clarify different product types.

SA Health's system and the four classifications which result are set out in the South Australian Food Business Risk Classification (PDF 429KB)

Classification levels

The classifications levels and corresponding colours are:

P1 P2 P3 P4 buttons in the relevant classification colour
  • Priority 1 (P1) – highest risk  Red
  • Priority 2 (P2)  Orange
  • Priority 3 (P3)  Green
  • Priority 4 (P4) – lowest risk  Teal

These classifications have been based on the national food safety risk profiling framework.

Classification uses

Classification allows regulators to assign food businesses a priority for inspection, based on the inherent food safety risk of the food and processes and adjust inspection frequency based on the compliance of the business with the food safety standards. Priority classifications can also be used to apply regulatory requirements relating to food safety programs in food businesses.

The priority classification of each food business is assessed and applied during inspection.