About regional health

In 1 July 2019, six new regional local health networks were formed to manage the health services in regional South Australia.

In line with the Government’s priority to devolve responsibility for local health service delivery to the local level, the Country Health SA Local Health Network was replaced by six regional local health networks (LHNs), each led by a governing board.

Each board is made up of six to eight members, appointed on merit, with experience or expertise in one of the following areas – health management, clinical governance, commercial management, financial management, law or provision of health services. Two members must be health professionals and one must have expertise, knowledge or experience in Aboriginal health.

For more information about the six regional local health networks, the board chairs and members, visit each of the six LHN pages below:

The Rural Support Service (RSS) is a business unit in SA Health that is responsible for providing flexible, responsive and innovative services to support the regional LHNs to grow and thrive by:

  • providing system-wide capacity and capability across a range of specialised clinical and corporate functions
  • enabling, where sustainable and appropriate, the LHNs to develop local capacity and capability to become self-sufficient in the delivery of these functions.

The RSS is also responsible for delivering some statewide services for and with all ten LHNs in South Australia.

For more information about the RSS, visit the Rural Support Service page.

Country Health Gift Fund Health Advisory Council Annual Reports




Country Health SA Annual Reports