SA Health Awards

The SA Health Awards showcase excellence in the public health sector.

The Awards recognise and reward individuals, teams, programs or projects that have significantly improved the delivery of health services to the South Australian community. They also honour the commitment of those who work to improve the performance of the public health sector.

The SA Health Awards Ceremony was held on Friday 17 November, to announce the 2023 winners. Congratulations to our 2023 winners and finalists and the amazing programs they work on and incredible work they do.

Premier’s Award for Excellence in Health 2023

This award recognises nominations that support or promote excellence in health and community wellbeing through healthcare initiatives.

Winner: Voluntary Assisted Dying, Department for Health and Wellbeing (DHW)
Finalist: Northern Adelaide Local Health Network (NALHN) Mental Health and SAPOL Co-Response Program, NALHN
Finalist: Southern Adelaide Local Health Network's (SALHN) Continuous Improvement Program and Faculty, SALHN

Enhancing Hospital Care 2023

This award recognises those who demonstrate a contribution to enhancing hospital care.

Winner: Reducing complications after surgery with Advanced Recovery Room Care (ARRC), Central Adelaide Local Health Network (CALHN)
Finalist: Respiratory Rapid Access Service (RRAS), CALHN
Finalist: SALHN Podiatry High Risk Foot Service, SALHN

Making a Difference 2023

This award recognises those who have exemplified the public sector’s purpose statement, Making a Difference so South Australia Thrives, through their role and service.

Winner: Yorke and Northern Local Health Network (YNLHN) Rehabilitation Service, YNLHN
Finalist: Kory Horwood - Orthopaedic Nurse Consultant, Women's and Children's Health Network (WCHN)
Finalist: Barossa Hills Fleurieu Local Health Network (BHFLHN) #Blakout Campaign, BHFLHN

Excellence and Innovation in Aboriginal Health 2023

This award recognises excellence and innovation by individuals and/or teams in the delivery or support of Aboriginal healthcare services.

Winner: Collaborative Response to Tuberculosis in Remote Aboriginal Communities, Department of Health and Wellbeing, Statewide Clinical Support Services, CALHN
Finalist: Flinders Eye Centre – Aboriginal Health Journey Mapping, SALHN
Finalist: Watto Purrunna Aboriginal Health Assertive Outreach Team, NALHN

Improving Safety and Quality

This award recognises outstanding achievement in research and/or education and improvements in patient safety and quality of care.

Winner: Arterial Blood Gas Rationalisation Initiative for Safety and Quality, CALHN
Finalist: Flinders Ophthalmology Outpatients – Intravitreal Injection Service Improvement, SALHN
Finalist: Regional Cancer Services Team, Rural Support Service

Excellence in Non-Clinical Services 2023

This award recognises those that provide outstanding support, advice and direction.

Winner: SALHN Schwartz Rounds Planning Committee, SALHN
Finalist: Leading Clinicians Program, DHW
Finalist: Tackling barriers to discharge with the Long Length of Stay (LLoS) and Complex Consumer Framework, CALHN

Out of Hospital Strategies and Care 2023

This award recognises those who demonstrate a contribution to out of hospital strategies and care.

Winner: Mental Health Co-Response service (MH-CORE), A SALHN, CALHN, NALHN and SA Ambulance Service (SAAS) partnership
Finalist: SA Virtual Care Service (SAVCS), DHW and SALHN
Finalist: Priority Care Centres, DHW

Young Professional of the Year 2023

Young professionals are the current and future leaders of SA Health. This award recognises the commitment and dedication of our young professionals.

Winner: A/Prof Alexandre Santos - Medical Physics Specialist, CALHN
Finalist: Tamika Miller - Project Officer, Aboriginal Health, YNLHN
Finalist: Bianca Piantedosi - Nurse Practitioner Candidate (Emergency/Stroke) and Nurse Consultant, Rural Support Service

Excellence in Strengthening Partnerships 2023

This award recognises outstanding leadership and outcomes in strengthening partnerships, both within SA Health and with external agencies.

Winner: Hospital Avoidance and Supported Discharge Service (HASDS), CALHN
Finalist: Gumeracha After Hours Nurse-led Clinic, BHFLHN
Finalist: Supporting psychosocial disability consumers through community-based transitional care model, CALHN

Minister’s Research and Innovation 2023

This award recognises those who demonstrate outstanding results in healthcare through research and innovation.

Winner: Comprehensive Palliative Care in Aged Care – End of Life Team, DHW
Finalist: Implementing Zeus Telehealth to enhance Regional Acute Stroke Patients outcomes, Rural Support Service
Finalist: Advancing care for patients with Inflammatory Bowel Disease, CALHN

More information

For more information, contact the SA Health Awards Coordinator on email

Previous winners and finalists by year